Who knew baking banana walnut muffins would be such a comedic venture?  I was waiting for a hidden camera crew to jump out of my cupboards laughing hysterically.  Here’s hoping my mother-in-law, Maggie isn’t reading how I desecrated another one of her lovely recipes from Canada.

Last night, I tried making this recipe to find we had no eggs.  At least, the bananas are now mashed.  This morning, I picked up where I left off.  The recipe calls for all purpose flour however I intentionally grab the self rising flour.  Why Heather why?  I look at the words self and rising then think to myself… this could make some serious Alice in Wonderland sized muffins.  I also think to myself, brilliant.  Let’s just say, this thought process may have worked if I hadn’t poured 1/2 cup of batter in each muffin hole.

20 minutes go by, I smell something burning and return to the kitchen to see black clouds of smoke.  I open the oven door, my muffins have poured out everywhere and were doing everything but rising.  I quickly place a cookie sheet underneath and soldier on.  I am not giving up, they may not look great but hopefully they taste great.  Secretly, my bet is on the mini loaf that is minding it’s own business next to these muffins that I will now refer to as a hot mess.

I was right and should be a betting woman, that mini loaf tasted great and had the looks to match. Big sigh of relief.  Here is Maggie’s original recipe with no modifications involving self rising flour.  Oh, and I will let Dr. White try those muffins.

Banana Walnut Bread
2 large loaves or 4 mini loaves

Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cooking Time: 45 minutes – 1 hour

4 bananas, mashed
1 egg
1 cup sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 walnuts, chopped

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Grease loaf pans.
  3. Mix mashed bananas with egg, sugar and vanilla.  Set aside.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix flour, salt and baking soda. 
  5. Mix ingredients from both bowls together.
  6. Gently fold in chopped walnuts.
  7. Pour batter evenly into loaf pans.
  8. Bake for 45 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out dry.

Cooking Notes:

  • Goes without saying, I recommend using all purpose flour.
  • If you have a nut allergy, simply do not add walnuts.
  • At the 45 minute mark, check your loaves with a toothpick.  If the toothpick doesn’t come out clean, bake for an additional 15 minutes.  Also, if you find the tops of your loaves are becoming too brown, cover loosely with aluminum foil.

Enjoy! From my kitchen to yours.

Bookmark and Share

Subscribe to Z is for zest and have recipes delivered to your inbox.

