Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble

It’s been months since I baked a dessert.  That is no exaggeration and Dr. White has got to be tired of eating store bought cookies.  The original plan was to bake a strawberry rhubarb pie.  I asked my mother-in-law for a recipe and she obliged.  Her pie recipe originates from Canada and has been around for years.  I spent a better part of last week psyching myself up by chanting I think I can, I think I can.  Since I am not a very good baker, making a pie crust from scratch is daunting.  Makes me laugh just thinking about it.  In the end, I wanted to be realistic and let’s face it, a crumble is more my speed, read easy.

My new goal is use ingredients that are “in-season”.  I found this fruit and vegetable chart that has been useful in achieving this goal.  A big thanks to Nicole from My Karma Kitchen for giving me her recipe.  I made some slight modifications and this is what I came up with.

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble
Serves: 6

Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cooking Time: 40 minutes

Filling
1 lemon, juiced
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3 T. cornstarch
1 tsp. honey
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups rhubarb, chopped in 1/2 inch pieces
1 quart strawberries, hulled and quartered

Crumb Topping
1 cup flour
1/2 cups rolled oats
handful of sliced almonds
6 T. brown sugar
zest of 1 lemon
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1 stick unsalted butter, melted

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Using a medium sized pot, fill with water and bring to boil.
  3. Turn off heat and add rhubarb pieces.
  4. Mix all filling ingredients together with the exception of the rhubarb and strawberries, set aside.
  5. Mix all crumb topping ingredients together, set aside.
  6. Remove rhubarb from hot water and gently fold into the filling mixture along with strawberries.
  7. Grease 6 ramekins.
  8. Evenly add filling mixture.
  9. Evenly add crumb topping.
  10. Place ramekins on baking sheet and bake for 40 minutes.

Cooking Notes:

  • Adding rhubarb to hot water, removes it’s bitterness. (tip from my mother-in-law, Queen of baking!)
  • The definition of hull still baffles me.  Yes, I admit I looked up the definition.  In laments terms, cut off the tops of the strawberries and quarter.
  • I had leftover crumb topping and next time, will add a small amount to the bottom of each ramekin before the filling goes in.
  • If you prefer to skip individual servings, use a pie pan instead.
  • The crumb topping should be golden brown and the filling bubbling.  If you find this is not the case, bake for an additional 10 minutes.

Enjoy! From my kitchen to yours.

Bookmark and Share

Subscribe to Z is for zest and have recipes delivered to your inbox.

Before

After

