Valentine's Day (photo by hzaida)

I have been wanting to explore a new area on Z is for zest and that is party planning.  Along with cooking, I love throwing dinner and cocktail parties… actually all parties.  What can I say?  I am a party girl.  I thought every once in awhile I will share my ideas and tips on throwing a successful party as well as provide you with a menu and of course, recipes.

Sunday, is Valentine’s Day and I will be in Austin, Texas visiting friends.  I wanted to do something special for my husband before I left so, I made him a tasty brunch.  I thought this was the perfect opportunity to share a few ideas and a great menu with you before  the 14th arrives.

Part I will include a party plan, menu*, little touches and preparation.  Part II will include the recipes.

Party Plan

Valentine’s Day Brunch for Two

Menu*

  • Herb Baked Eggs
    (eggs baked in cream and butter, topped with garlic, fresh herbs and parmesan cheese)
  • Sourdough Toast with Peach Conserve
  • Canadian Bacon
  • Fruit Salad
  • Mimosas

Little Touches

  • Dust off the champagne glasses you used on your wedding day.  A small, sentimental touch goes a long way.
  • In honor of Julia Child (one of my heroes), make red paper hearts and attach to your shirts with a pin.
  • Flowers.  I always have fresh flowers when I host a party.  It is a must for me.
  • Choose a color scheme, I stayed traditional and went with pink, white and red. 
  • Add character to your table setting by using an assortment of different white plates / platters in different shapes and sizes.  Add flare to your table setting by using a funky plate that relates to Valentine’s Day.

Preparation

  • 1 week before, start looking for champagne glasses and clean if necessary.
  • 1 day before, buy groceries and flowers.
  • 1 day before, cut flowers and place in vases you will be using.
  • 1 day before, chill champagne.
  • 2 hours before brunch, set table and arrange vases.
  • 2 hours before brunch, cut out paper hearts and have pins ready.
  • 1  hour before brunch, start your food preparation.

Enjoy! From my home to yours.

*Check back tomorrow for recipes!

