Wedge Salad (photo by hzaida)

I know, I know… a salad recipe.  Would you feel differently if you now had something to make in a hurry, that also made the perfect side dish that won’t break the bank and the dressing was so good you wanted to bathe in it?  I thought so. 

My husband and I typically order a wedge salad when we are at a steak house and this week he wanted to grill steaks and I thought, “Why I have not made this at home?”  Not to mention, I have a recipe for blue cheese dressing you will want to drink.  One of those recipes, I just started throwing ingredients together until I had the winning combination. 

Wedge Salad with Blue Cheese Dressing
Serves 4

Wedge Salad
1 head of iceberg lettuce, quartered
6 slices of bacon
Handful of cherry tomatoes, quartered

Blue Cheese Dressing
Servings: 12 ounces

1/2 cup low fat sour cream
1/2 cup mayo
1/4 cup skim milk
1 T. red wine vinegar
3/4 cup blue cheese crumbles
2.5 T. red onion, finely minced
1 garlic clove, finely minced
2 tsp. parsley, finely minced
1/2 tsp. pepper
pinch of salt

  1. Finely mince red onion and place in clean bowl.
  2. Finely mince garlic and place in same bowl.
  3. Finely mince parsley and place in same bowl.
  4. Add remaining ingredients found in the Blue Cheese Dressing recipe.
  5. Mix well and refrigerate minimum 1 hr. before serving.
  6. Using a frying pan, cook bacon until crispy.
  7. Drain bacon on a paper towel before crumbling.
  8. Wash and cut iceberg lettuce into quarters.
  9. Wash and cut cherry tomatoes into quarters.
  10. Pour 1 ounce of the blue cheese dressing down the middle of each wedge of iceberg.
  11. Sprinkle your bacon crumbles evenly over each wedge of iceberg.
  12. Arrange your tomato quarters around plate.

Cooking Notes:

  • I like to make the blue cheese dressing the night before and really let the flavors mingle.  However, if you are in a hurry try to refrigerate for at least one hour to truly enjoy this dressing.
  • When I mention pouring 1 ounce of dressing, I am using a 1 ounce ladle and found this to be the perfect untensil.
  • If you like bacon, by all means cook and add more bacon.
  • I generally use fresh herbs because I think fresh herbs really add something extra but I also realize it may be silly for you to buy an entire bunch of parsley for 2  teaspoons so you can substitute dry parsley but just this one time.  Wink, wink.  If using dry parsley, only add 1 tsp.

Enjoy! From my kitchen to yours.

Bookmark and Share

Subscribe to Z is for zest and have recipes delivered to your inbox.

Wedge Salad (photo by hzaida)

