Vegetable Spring Rolls (photo by hzaida)

Vegetable Spring Rolls (photo by hzaida)

I was looking through an old binder full of my favorite recipes and came across a recipe for egg rolls.  The first time I made egg rolls was for a “dorm dinner party”, while living in the Caribbean.  They were a big hit so, naturally when I saw this recipe I wanted to share with all of you.

Here comes the twist and turn.  I was unable to find egg roll wrappers, actually truth be told I sent my husband to the grocery store and well… he came home with spring roll wrappers.  Oh, and not the pastry type but the rice paper round type.  After some research, I decided why let a good recipe go to waste?  Not to mention, I now have a gluten free recipe to showcase on the website. 

Vegetable Spring Rolls
Servings: 6

Spring roll wrappers (rice paper rounds)
1 T. sesame oil
1 T. canola oil
½ head cabbage, finely shredded
½ tsp. pepper
1 carrot, peeled and julienned*
handful of snow peas, trimmed and julienned*
¼ cup light soy sauce
1 tsp. corn starch
Peanut oil for frying

  1. Peel and julienne* 1 carrot.
  2. Trim and julienne* a handful of snow peas.
  3. Remove core and finely shred 1/2 head of cabbage.
  4. Whisk corn starch and soy sauce together, set aside.
  5. Using a large frying pan, heat sesame and canola oils over medium to high heat.
  6. Add cabbage and cook for 2 minutes.
  7. Add carrots, snow peas, pepper and cook for 5 minutes.
  8. Add soy sauce mixture and cook for 2 minutes.
  9. Remove from heat and set aside.
  10. Soak spring roll wrappers in a shallow dish for 45 seconds.
  11. Place 2 T. of vegetable mixture toward the end of the wrapper.
  12. Roll twice.
  13. Fold each end and continue to roll.
  14. Using a stock pot, heat 2 – 3 inches of peanut oil on high.
  15. Carefully fry each egg roll for 2 – 3 minutes or until golden brown.
  16. Drain on paper towel and serve immediately.

Cooking Notes

  • What I found challenging, was getting the roll crispy.  Either my oil wasn’t hot enough or you really need to use a dough wrapper.  I found that the rice paper wrapper wouldn’t get a nice golden brown color and if not eaten right away would become somewhat soggy.  Again, it could have been the temperature of my oil or the actual wrapper.
  • If you have a peanut allergy, please use canola oil when frying.
  • If you are not a fan of frying, take a non-stick frying pan and using a small amount of oil, brown each side and bake in oven until crispy.
  • I served the rolls with soy sauce but there are zillion ways you can add flare to regular ol soy.  Try adding some finely minced garlic, ginger and scallions.
  • *Stay tuned for a How To video on julienning vegetables.

Enjoy! From my kitchen to yours.

Bookmark and Share

Subscribe to Z is for zest and have recipes delivered to your inbox.

