Peach Cobbler (photo by hzaida)

Peach Cobbler (photo by hzaida)

I promised my husband one dessert a week and it’s been more like one dessert a month.  Whoopsie.  Since all the ingredients were in my pantry I decided to make a peach
cobbler.  I took this Southern favorite and made some modifications cutting half the sugar and some fat.  I promise, you won’t miss it.

Peach Cobblercobbler (1 of 3)     
Servings 8

1 stick unsalted butter
1 cup “self rising” flour
1 cup skim milk
1 cup sugar, divided into 3/4 cup and 1/4 cup
1 large can (29 ounces) sliced peaches in light syrup

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Using a 9×13 casserole dish, melt butter by laying the stick inside the dish and placing casserole dish inside the oven for a few minutes.
3. While butter is melting; mix flour, milk and 3/4 cup sugar together.
4. Remove casserole dish from oven and pour mixture evenly over butter, DO NOT STIR!
5. Evenly pour can of peaches and syrup over mixture, DO NOT STIR!
6. Sprinkle 1/4 cup sugar over peaches, DO NOT STIR!
7. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes to 1 hour, until golden brown.

Best if served warm with vanilla ice cream.

Enjoy! From my kitchen to yours.

Cooking Notes

  • I should have tried using half a stick of butter, I have a feeling the cobbler will taste just as good.
  • Self rising flour is the key to this recipe, you will have a hot mess if you attempt to use all purpose flour.  The point of the self rising flour is that it will come up and over your peaches to form a crust.
  • What normally takes 1 hour to bake only took me 40 minutes because I used a glass casserole dish and an electric oven.
Peach Cobbler (photo by hzaida)

Peach Cobbler (photo by hzaida)

