Butterball Cookies (photo by hzaida)

They say the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach.  For my husband, there is a detour that involves his sweet tooth.  Poor guy married someone who dreads baking.   I however enjoy making butterball cookies for their sheer simplicity.  I mean c’mon if I cannot handle butter, sugar and flour than there is something seriously wrong.

Let’s start with 2 sticks of salted butter.  If Martha Stewart were reading she would be shaking her head but I obtained this recipe from my mother-in-law whose mother also made these cookies and given my track record with baking, I am not about to change a thing.

I am using a Kitchen Aid mixer but if you do not own one, that is fine because a handheld mixer will work just as well.

Cream your butter!  When your butter is nice and fluffy, add 1 tsp. of vanilla and a dash of salt.  Cream again.  Begin working in a 1/2 cup of powdered sugar.  Cream again.   See the pattern here?

Gently add 2 cups of flour.  Beat slowly until mixture comes together and forms a ball.  If you feel this mixture is too sticky you can always add additional flour.  I however found 2 cups to be the perfect amount.

balls

After you have lined a baking sheet with parchment paper, it is time to start rolling our balls.  You want your balls not too small and not too large (no comment).

This recipe will shape 21 – 24 balls and should fit on one cookie sheet.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15 – 20 minutes.  At the 15 minute mark, check one cookie by gently lifting the cookie and checking the bottom.  It should be golden brown.  When I checked mine at the 15 minute mark, I found they needed 2 additional minutes.  After you take the cookies out of the oven cool for a few minutes.

sugar

Now for the fun part, rolling your cookies in powdered sugar.   After you roll all of your cookies, let them cool completely before you hide I mean store away.

Butterball Cookies
Servings: 21 – 24 balls

2 sticks salted butter

1 tsp. vanilla

dash of salt

1/2 cup powdered sugar

2 cups flour

powdered sugar for rolling balls

  1. Using a mixer, cream your butter.
  2. Add vanilla, salt and cream again.
  3. Add 1/2 cup powdered sugar and cream again.
  4. Gently add 2 cups flour, beat slowly until the mixture forms a ball.
  5. Make 21 – 24 balls and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
  6. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 – 20 minutes.
  7. Cool slightly and roll in powdered sugar.
  8. Cool completely before storing.

Enjoy! From my kitchen to yours.

Butterball Cookies (photo by hzaida)

